Indigenous Justice Committee

The National Indigenous Justice Committee was established in 2007. Its members include judicial officers who chair State committees. The Terms of Reference for the National Committee provide for it to prepare a National Curriculum for the professional development of Australian judicial officers on indigenous issues.

View the National Curriculum Framework

The National Committee also makes decisions on the allocation of funds for the conduct of professional development programs for judicial officers on indigenous justice issues. The funding is provided by the Commonwealth Attorney-General’s Department over a four period. These programs are mainly developed by State Committees. To date the following programs have been funded:

  • Communicating with indigenous witnesses – Judging in Remote Localities Conference (Alice Springs NT) April 2008

  • Queensland Magistrates Court annual Conference (Marcoola QLD) May 2008

  • Twilight Seminar – Aboriginal English in the Legal System – Supreme Court WA (Perth WA) November 2008

  • Cultural Awareness Conference (Adelaide SA) November 2008

  • Wadjuk Nyungar program (‘Aboriginal Perth’) for WA judicial officers (Perth WA) February 2009

  • Aboriginal cultural awareness program (Creswick VIC) March 2009

  • Workshop For Judges & Magistrates on Indigenous Culture & History (Brisbane QLD) May 2009

  • Ngara Yura Conference (Wollongong NSW) May 2009

  • Yelakitj Moort Judicial Cross Cultural Training Package (Perth WA) September 2009

  • Session on indigenous justice courts – conference of the Association of Australian Magistrates (Darwin) June 2010

  • Adnyamathanha Cultural Awareness Program (SA) May/June 2010 

  • Talking Law and Country Program (WA) November 2010

  • Back to Country – a weekend on Gunditjmara Land (VIC) March 2011

Committee Members

Chief Justice Wayne Martin AC
Supreme Court Western AustraliaChair
Justice Roslyn Atkinson
Supreme Court Queensland
Justice Peter Barr
Supreme Court of the Northern Territory
Judge Sarah Bradley
District Court Queensland
Magistrate Wendy Cull
Magistrates’ Court Queenland
Mr Dennis Eggington
Aboriginal Legal Service Western Australia
Chief Justice Robert French AC
High Court of Australia
Justice Stephen Kaye
Supreme Court Victoria
Justice Stephen Rothman
Supreme Court of New South Wales
Ms Anne Wallace
University of Canberra

More Information